Vermont E-Waste Rules

Vermont's new electronic waste law (Title 10, Chapter 166) bans the disposal of certain electronic devices and provides for convenient collection of computers, monitors, printers, computer peripherals, and televisions for consumers, charities, school districts, and small businesses that employ 10 or fewer individuals.

The FREE Vermont E-Cycles electronic recycling program established collection locations that are located statewide and operate year-round. All computers, monitors, printers, computer peripherals and TVs - regardless of brand, age, or condition - are accepted for FREE recycling. Other electronic devices are also accepted at these locations, however, there may be a fee to dispose of those items.

The following e-waste collectors are registered in Bennington County:
Bennington Transfer Station
904 Houghton Road
Bennington, VT 05202
(802) 399-7090
Hours: Click here for current hours and Holiday schedule.

Sunderland Transfer Station
4561 Sunderland Road
Sunderland, VT 05250
(802) 399-7090
Hours: 7:30am to 2:00 pm on Monday, Tuesday, Thursday and Friday. 7:30am to 11:30am on Saturday.

Northshire Transfer Station
407 Tennis Way
East Dorset, VT 05253
(802) 362-1282
Hours: 8:00am to 2:00 pm on Monday to Friday. 8:00am to 12:00pm on Saturday.

Town of Winhall Transfer/Recycling Facility
66 Old Town Road
Winhall, VT 05340
(802) 297-2130
Hours: 9:00am to 4:00 pm on Saturday and Sunday. 8:00am to 4:00pm on Monday, Tuesday and Friday.
A complete list of Vermont's e-waste collectors is found at the Vermont Agency of Natural Resources. (1)

(1) Although the Shaftsbury Transfer Station is listed as a collector in this list, we are not. We'd like to be a collector, but we can't figure out how to allow free access for e-waste disposal yet require access stickers for other uses of our Transfer Station. Consequently, while you can dispose of e-waste at our Transfer Station, our contractor, TAM, will charge for each item.
View Transfer Station Information